Matching the two pieces

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 22.39.33

Tonight Chris came round and we did the piece again with a canon 60d camera like I did with Jennifer. I am happier with the result. However, due to the environment it was obviously not the same result as with Jennifer in the studio. In the studio I used a large over head soft box, could pull the subject matter far away from the back drop and have my camera at a longer distance from the subject matter – all together creating a piece which has a great dispersion and control of light.
I filmed Chris in my tiny flat – where he was much closer to the back drop and the camera was much closer to him. Therefore the highlights and the shadows are much harsher, furthermore the LED light, though putting it on top of the kitchen table could not be placed in the same way the soft box was used in the studio.
Unfortunately Chris cannot make it to Cheltenham due to work, but I would love to take him into the studio to create the same outcome as Jennifer.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 22.47.42
However, what I did do, was try and compliment and connect the two pieces together and it slightly reminded me of an article about colour palettes that Wes Anderson uses (as above).

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 22.56.55Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 22.56.48

Below is a screenshot from where I put the two piece against each other on a white background – with the music/text overlaying.  The colour edit/grade on Chris is slightly different to the one I did above, I prefer the first edit personally. The second edit below is slightly dark and has a pink tone.

I think because I had such a vision for this one powerful video – I feel by having two, it detracts from the intensity. I am going to talk to my tutors on Monday, and see what their opinion and advice on the matter is.

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 00.18.22

 

Leave a Reply

