What I learnt from the pageants – professionally as a photographer

Working with the organiser was quite hard, she had no skills or experience in the profession of organising events and it reflected in the management of it. I have learnt no matter what is discussed in person, to have clear contracts and set boundaries. To explain expenses and payment etc are different – which is not something I thought I would have to do. I have come to the point with my photography where exposure is no longer a payment for me! It is amazing that UK wide spread papers and film productions working for channel 4 / bbc still think it is Ok to offer this is payment. But I am learning to stay in control and communicate my pay etc. The positive outcome of this was being paid for my articles and images that were published in the likes of bbc, vice etc.

 

 

Leave a Reply

